The Book of Job: Life’s Ultimate Tests

This morning I woke up and got the urge to read chapters 1 and 2 of the Book of Job. (I’ve actually had the urge for two days, oops. But timing is also everything; it was important that it was done today.) As I opened my Bible app I thought I should read the whole book. I already knew the enemy told God that Job would turn away from Him if he was tested, but Job didn’t in the first two chapters. I thought, “well there must be a bigger lesson that needs to be learned if there are more chapters in this book. Now, if yall don’t know the Book of Job is 42 chapters and the individual chapters are very long. I know my limits, so I decided to turn on the read-out-loud feature. Somehow I opened my eyes and I was in Psalms lol. I went back to 30 and finished Job. Here is a summary of the occurrences: the enemy asked God for permission to test Job so he could prove that Job would turn from God. Job lost everything (his livestock, children, and possessions.) He did not blame God, instead he was still thankful and faithful. As the book went on Job began to complain and groan over and over and over again. He said God would not talk to him and he is punishing him for no reason. He lost his faith. Job complained to his friends daily; he was annoying them as they tried to tell him the truth about his situation. Job put the full blame on God instead of taking responsibility for the actions of him and his children. A young man named Elihu stepped up to talk some sense into Job. He was afraid at first because he is young and thought no one would respect him. Next God went IN on Job (I was literally laughing in my head because He got Job all the way together.) Job was dumbfounded. Job 42:2&3- “I know that you can do all things;  no purpose of yours can be thwarted. 3 You asked, ‘Who is this that obscures my plans without knowledge?’ Surely I spoke of things I did not understand, things too wonderful for me to know (NIV)”. Job learned his lesson, restored his faith, and ended up being blessed with everything he had before plus more!
After listening to the book I got on YouTube to watch a sermon since I missed church. I watched a Heather Lindsey video that caught my eye and said some things I really needed to hear. My favorite sermons to watch online are Joel Osteen’s. I started three different videos, but I knew I was not supposed to watch those ones in this moment. On the suggested videos bar I saw one entitled Don’t Let the Pain Hurt. I got that Holy Spirit feeling of “that’s the one.” Here are my notes from the sermon:

  • There is a purpose for the pain.
  • A woman felt extreme pains for a while and no one could figure out what was causing them. When she was rushed to the hospital the doctor said, “I know exactly what the problem is. 90 minutes later she delivered a baby. She didn’t know why she had the pain, but there was  great purpose that produced new fruit and opportunities (the baby.) Just like the woman we can be pregnant with pain, but what we birth will so amazing.
  • How the pain changes you is up to you (because it will change you in some way.)
  • The enemy may turn on the fire, but God has control of the thermostat.
  • Every Struggle is making you stronger.
  • We were not created to float on the flowery beds of life with no troubles.
  • If God allowed it, He knows how to bring good out of it.
  • You can come out bitter, or can come out better.
  • “I’m mot a whiner, I’m a warrior.”
  • Don’t waste you pain! Turn it into something great.
  • Joel’s mother was diagnosed with terminal cancer with a few weeks to live. Instead of feeling down and out, she went out and encouraged others. She turned her pain into encouragement and she is still alive today!
  • A couple in the church found out their son had autism. Instead of being defeated they started the “Champions Club” for children with special needs in their church. The Champions Club has now spread to many churches.
  • A mother found out that her daughter was killed while she was walking to church. She took her pain and created Mother’s Against Drunk Driving. (I was amazed when I heard this one because I wrote about this organization for school before.)
  • Don’t put a question mark where God put a period!

I was just thinking about my situation while I was watching this. I realized once again everything happens for a reason. I had to be uncomfortable and go through a little bit of pain in order to write these posts this weekend. I am going through things, but others are as well. I am taking my pain and turning it into encouragement for you all. I also logged out all of my social media apps on my phone because I find myself checking them too many times throughout the day. I could have used social media and Netflix binged all weekend as a distraction, but that would equate to me running away from my problems. I needed to go to God and pour out my troubles to Him. I also needed to read the word; the bible always has a solution to your problems. The last step in this process is applying what I have learned. I encourage you all to do the same whenever you run into a sticky situation. I feel so much better. ( Yall, I was going through it at the conception of this post lol. Heartbreak 101)

2 Corinthians 4: 3-7 3 Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, 4 who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God. 5 For just as we share abundantly in the sufferings of Christ, so also our comfort abounds through Christ. 6 If we are distressed, it is for your comfort and salvation; if we are comforted, it is for your comfort, which produces in you patient endurance of the same sufferings we suffer. 7 And our hope for you is firm, because we know that just as you share in our sufferings,so also you share in our comfort.

Leave a Reply

